64 MPs to lose pensions if parliament dissolves today

If the parliament of Sri Lanka is dissolved at midnight today as planned, 64 parliamentarians will lose out on their pensions.

A Member of Parliament must complete a five-year tenure to receive pension rights.

Accordingly, the United National Party (UNP) parliamentarians will lose the most pension rights, with 36 MPs in total who might lose the right.

Additionally, 21 United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) MPs, 6 Tamil National Alliance (TNA) MPs, and one JVP MP lose their pension rights.

Parliament will be dissolved midnight today, Information and Communication Technology State Minister Lakshman Yapa Abeywardene said yesterday.

He said the relevant gazette notification will be issued today. Under the 19th amendment to the Constitution, the President can dissolve Parliament after four and a half years. The last general election was held on August 16, 2015 and the first parliament sitting was held on September 1, 2015.