All schools island wide to be closed on February 9th in preparation of local government polls

All schools in Sri Lanka will be closed on Friday, February 9th in view of the local government polls on Saturday, the Ministry of Education announced.

Meanwhile, 19 schools and two National Colleges of Education that will be used for the issuance and collecting of ballot boxes, will be closed from tomorrow, until the 9th.

The two National Colleges of Education that will be closed are the Paththalagedera National College of Education in Veyangoda and the Pulathisipura National College of Education in Polonnaruwa.

Following 19 schools will be closed from tomorrow: D.S. Senanayake College – Colombo 07, Royal College – Colombo, Gnanodaya Maha Vidyalaya – Kalutara, St John’s Maha Vidyalaya – Kalutara, Ranabima Royal College – Kandy, Sri Sangamitta Balika National School – Matale, Gamini Central College – Nuwara Eliya, Southlands College -Galle, Suchi National School Hambantota, Central College – Jaffna, Hindu College – Batticaloa, Vipulananda Tamil Maha Vidyalaya – Trincomalee , Maliyadeva Girls’ College- Kurunegala, Sir John Kothalawala College – Kurunegala, Hindu Central College – Puttalam, Central College – Anuradhapura, Viharamahadevi Girls School – Badulla, Royal College – Moneragala, and Swarna Jayanthi Maha Vidyalaya – Kegalle.

All schools and National Colleges of Education will recommence academic activities on the 12th.

Leave a Reply