Six attackers of EPDP leader sentenced to 10 years, 10 acquitted

A Sri Lankan court today sentenced six people for attacking the leader of EPDP parliamentarian Douglas Devananda at the Kalutara Prison in 1998.

After a lengthy trial, Colombo High Court Judge Piyasena Ranasinghe sentenced six suspects to 10 1/2 years of rigorous imprisonment each for assaulting the EPDP leader.

The Judge acquitted another 10 suspects including the LTTE Finance Unit chief Anthony Emil Kanthan.

The Attorney General had filed charges against 16 suspects under the Prevention of Terrorism Act, alleging that MP Douglas Devananda was assaulted in the Kalutara Prison.

The MP was assaulted when he visited the Kalutara prison on June 30, 1998 to look into a hunger strike launched by a group of detainees. The case was dragged on for nearly 10 years.