UK All Party Parliamentary Group for Sri Lanka explores opportunities to enhance bilateral trade

A four member delegation of the All Party Parliamentary Group for Sri Lanka (APPG-SL) in the House of Commons of the UK Parliament, is currently visiting Sri Lanka at the invitation of Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe. The visit commenced on 3rd January 2018 and will conclude on Monday 8th January.

The delegation is led by Chairman of the APPG-SL MP Ranil Jayawardena, and includes the MPs Michelle Donelan, Chris Green, and John Lamont.

The APPG-SL delegation met with President Maithripala Sirisena, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, Speaker Karu Jayasuriya, Foreign Minister Tilak Marapana and Leader of the Opposition R. Sampanthan Thursday, for discussions regarding Sri Lanka – UK bilateral relations.

The Group will also meet with officials of the Board of Investment of Sri Lanka and the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce to explore new opportunities to further enhance bilateral trade and investment.

They will also travel to Jaffna, Kandy and Galle and will meet with Government officials and community members in the respective districts.


Leave a Reply