UNP Working Committee approves new party officials

UNP Working Committee approves new party officials

The Working Committee of the United National Party (UNP) Thursday approved the nominations made to the party’s top official posts by the Political Advisory Board.

The UNP Working Committee met today at party headquarters in Sirikotha under the patronage of the Prime Minister and party leader Ranil Wickremesinghe.

“I congratulate all the new appointees in the UNP leadership team. I look forward to working together to make this United National Party even stronger,” the Premier said after the party posts were confirmed.

Following the poor results obtained by the party at the local government elections held in February, a consensus has reached that the party should undergo a complete reorganization.

A reorganization committee was appointed under the leadership of the Premier and the committee held several rounds of discussions on reorganizing the party.

Accordingly, the Special Advisory Committee which met at Temple Trees yesterday, made nominations to the top posts of the party.

The Committee suggested reappointing Minister Sajith Premadasa as the deputy leader of the party while Ravi Karunanayake was appointed the assistant leader.

Minister Akila Viraj Kariyawasam was nominated as the General Secretary of the party, while Minister Kabir Hashim was nominated as the Chairman.

Minister Navin Dissanayake was nominated as the National Organizer and State Minister Dr. Harsha de Silva was nominated for the Treasurer post while State Minister Ruwan Wijewardene was appointed as the Deputy General Secretary.

Minister Harin Fernando has been appointed as the Communication and Propaganda Secretary of the party, while State Minister Ajith P. Perera was proposed as the Secretary of Trade Unions.

The nominations have been approved at Thursday’s special Working Committee meeting.

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments