Court rejects petition on Dehiattakandiya SLFP nomination

The Supreme Court today rejected the fundamental rights petition filed by the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) against the rejection of its nomination list for the election of Dehiattakandiya Pradeshiya Sabha.

The order was given by a three-member Panel of Judges comprising Chief Justice Priyasath, Dep, and Justices Sisira de Abrew and Nalin Perera.

The fundamental rights petition was filed by a group of SLFP candidates in the rejected nomination list.

When the petition was taken into consideration, the State Counsel stated that the nomination paper was not handed over by an officer appointed by the SLFP General Secretary. As such the nomination list was inadmissible, the State Counsel stated.

Having considered the submissions, the Supreme Court has ruled that there was no legal background to hear the petition.


Leave a Reply