LG polls Nominations end Sixteen lists rejected SLPP rejected in Jaffna, Thirappane, Valikamam North, Valikamam East and Delft

JAFFNA, SRI LANKA - SEPTEMBER 21: A sign directing voters to the polling station during the northern provincial council election on September 21, 2013 in Jaffna, Sri Lanka. Ethnic Tamil voters in Sri Lanka's war-ravaged north have gone to the polls on Saturday to form their first functioning provincial government since 1988 following 26-year long civil war that ended in the country in 2009.. (Photo by Buddhika Weerasinghe/Getty Images)

By Shaahidah Riza and Kavindya Chris Thomas

Nominations for the forthcoming Local Government elections concluded yesterday (21). Sixteen of the nomination lists had been rejected.
In the Colombo District, nominations were accepted for 10 LG bodies, including the Colombo Municipal Council, Moratuwa MC, Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte MC, Kaduwela MC, Kolonnawa Urban Council (UC), Seethawakapura UC, Kesbewa UC, Homagama Pradeshiya Sabha (PS), Kotikawatte-Mulleriyawa PS and the Seethawaka PS, Returning Officer of the Colombo District Secretariat S. Nandana said.

He added that in the Colombo District, 87 groups had deposited bonds, and of that number 76 had submitted nominations. Of the 76, nomination lists, those of three groups were rejected. The nomination lists from the Jathika Janatha Party (JJP) seeking representation in the Colombo District, the Eksath Samajavadi Party (ESP) seeking representation in Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte, and the nomination list of an independent group that sought representation in the Kesbewa UC were rejected.
The rejections were owing to the respective parties not adhering to the relevant laws.

Several candidates were also rejected as their forms were incorrectly filled. Therefore, from the Colombo District, 60 groups, from accepted political parties and 13 independent groups, numbering a total of 73 are eligible to contest the forthcoming elections. The polls will take place on 10 February, 2018 from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m. The rejected parties and independent groups will be informed in writing with the reasons for their rejection.

There were 42 objections, eight against the Colombo MC, seven against the Moratuwa MC, eight against the Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte MC, five against the Kaduwela MC, three against the Kolonnawa UC, four against the Kesbewa UC, three against the Seethawaka PS, and four against the Homagama PS. However, only one objection against an independent group from the Kesbewa UC was accepted. Nine parties and two independent groups are due to contest the Colombo MC polls.

Five political parties and one independent group were eligible to contest the Moratuwa MC, six parties and one independent group for the Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte MC, seven parties and four independent groups for the Kaduwela MC, six parties for the Kolonnawa UC, six parties and one independent group for the Kesbewa UC, four parties and one independent group for the Seethawakapura UC, four for the Seethawaka PS, six parties for the Homagama PS and five parties and three independent groups for the Kotikawatte-Mulleriya PS, Nandana said.

He added that the number of candidates has yet to be calculated and that in one group from the Colombo MC there are 113.
The nomination list submitted by the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) for the Thirappane PS in Anuradhapura was rejected by Returning Officers yesterday. Further, SLPP nominations for the Jaffna MC, the PSs of Valikamam North, Valikamam East and Delft were also rejected.

The nomination list submitted by the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress for the Weligama PS in Matara was also rejected.
The nomination list of the Janasetha Peramuna, a political party led by Buddhist monk, Battaramulle Seelaratana Thera, for the Welikanda PS in Polonnaruwa has also been rejected.
The Mawbima Janatha Party’s (MJP) nomination list for the Dickwella PS has also been rejected. Forty nomination lists from various political parties and independent groups have been accepted by Returning Officers in the Badulla District. The district has not recorded any rejection of nomination lists.

In the Batticaloa District, 79 nominations lists were accepted. Two rejections were reported from the Batticaloa MC and the Koralaipattu-North PS.

In the Galle District, 84 nomination lists were accepted. The District also rejected one nomination list for the Elpitiya PS.
The Hambantota District accepted 42 nomination lists with no rejections.
The Matale District accepted 60 nomination lists with no rejections.
The Matara District accepted 61 nomination lists with two rejections. The Dikwella PS and the Weligama PS saw two rejections of party nomination lists.

The Nuwara Eliya District accepted 68 nomination lists with one rejection in the Nuwara Eliya PS.
The Puttalam District accepted 62 nomination lists with one rejection in the Nattandiya PS.


Leave a Reply